New Old News

First Village Council, 1991

November 5th, 2012

As Key Biscayners take to the polls this week, we present these photos of the first Key Biscayne Village Council at the swearing in ceremony, inside the Key Biscayne Elementary School cafeteria.

The first Key Biscayne Village Council. From left to right: Raymond Sullivan, Joe Rasco, Luis Lauredo, Mayor Rafael Conte, Michael Hill, Mortimer Fried and Cliff Brody.

Residents voted to incorporate Key Biscayne with a 58 to 42 margin on November 6th, 1990. Then on September 3rd, 1991, residents voted in the first village council. Rafael Conte won the mayoral race over Betty Sime by only 60 votes. The Miami New Times has a great article from October 1991 recapping the mayoral election.

When you go vote this week, remember the history and remember that every vote counts on this island!